Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

The main entrance to Blackpool Victoria
Hospital, home of the Trust headquarters

We provide health services across the Fylde coast, Lancashire and south Cumbria, area that is home to 1.6 million people.

A range of hospital services is provided to the 352,000 people living on the Fylde coast and the estimated 18 million visitors who visit each year.

The Trust offers community health services to 445,000 residents of Blackpool, Fylde, Wyre and north Lancashire. We also provide specialist regional care for cardiac and haematology patients. 

The National Artificial Eye Service is hosted by the Trust and provides specialist care across England.

The Trust operates from the following main sites:

  • Blackpool Victoria Hospital
  • Clifton Hospital
  • Fleetwood Hospital
  • Whitegate Health Centre
  • Lytham Road Primary Care Centre
  • South Shore Primary Care Centre
  • Fleetwood Primary Care Centre
  • Moor Park Health and Leisure Centre
  • National Artificial Eye Service

  • Blackpool, Fylde and Wyre Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust was established on 1 December 2007 under the National Health Service Act 2006
  • In October 2010, the Trust was awarded teaching hospitals status and changed its name to Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust in recognition of this
  • On 1 April 2012, the Trust acquired the community health services of the former NHS Blackpool and NHS North Lancashire primary care trusts
  • On 31 October 2018, Lancashire Community Health Services transferred to the University Hospitals of Morecambe Bay NHS Foundation Trust
  • On 20 March 2017, the Trust’s subsidiary company BFW Management Limited (Atlas) began trading to provide the Trust’s estates services